Rich cocoNUT elixir

First off , thanks to the 3 commenters yesterday! I was as excited as a kid on christmas 🙂 I hope to find others to flock to me also!

As a new blogger, I am still trying to get the feel for posting these pictures and creating something fun and worthy to read, so be patient with me! Let me off with some boring posts and I can try and make up for it later 🙂

Like I said already, I love anything with coconut, especially rocking the coconut milk, coconut butter and coconut oils! A rich nutty flavor that is amazing, I was so glad to stumble upon these super-food items! The NUT part of the name also extends to my  obsessions with nuts, nut butters and….I guess nut oils (walnut oil anyone? :). And of course there is also the popularization of the nut milks on the market.

Oh, the coconut milk (had some for brekkie this morning)…I have 2 kinds: coconut milk regular and the other is light.

Coconut milk regular

I still have not tried the light. The difference in numbers?  and worthy to note that I buy the “Native Forests” brand.

Regualar coconut milk: (1/4 cup) 100 cals, 11 g fat (10 g saturated)

Light coconut milk: (1/4 cup) 35 cals, 3.5 g fat (3.0 g saturated)

Don’t fear the fat, foodies!  Why do coconut milk, butter, oil all get a bad rep? Research once claimed it was associated to heart disease and high cholesterol levels due to the saturated fat content. This turns out to be a guilty association. Raw coconuts and oils do not contain those trans fats that we know to avoid. Truth? Coconut is cholesterol free, and is even touted by many to speed the metabolism, fight chronic fatigue, speed healing of wounds ….

Good stuff. NOT why I use it …have to be honest …I just like the taste ! 🙂 But the research doesn’t hurt, hey!

What are your fave ways to use coconut products ? Have you tried them all?

I like:

coconut milk in hot cereal, tea, mashed with bananas and granola

coconut oil for roasted veggies :), drizzled on salads, glaze for pizza crust base, and fish or soy meals

coconut butter for (anything!)…but as a fruit dip, veggie dip, on squash or sweet potatoes, on crackers, even in hot cereals (try it!)

Wish I had a pic for the oil, but I used it up yesterday! But here is a glorious bottle of unopened coconut butter that I snagged the other day …why so much money 😦

Artisana Coconut butter

I have heard that you can make your own coconut butter, if you dare (haven’t tried it): use 1/2 cup coconut oil + 2 TBSPs of agave nectar, stir with butter knife and store in jar in cool dark place. Makes 1/2 cup.

Ok, boring post! No great pics and not much fun stuff here…work in progress – thanks for reading!

8 Responses to Rich cocoNUT elixir

  1. Cindy says:

    you’re talking coconuts so I’m listening.

    I adore coconut everything. I use the milk when I can get my hands on a carton for milk type things (mostly cooking), and I use the coconut butter on my dates before I jog, and on my baked yams and just on a spoon if no one’s watching

    I eat about 2-4 tsp a day of coconut oil. It’s AMAZING stuff. It is great source of energy..it’s antibacterial, viral, it’s great for skin( I use it as my tooth paste, my hair conditioner, my facial moisterizer and body lotion. I use it on my baby for sunscreen. I love fresh coconut water after a jog or work out and I just eat the coconut meat because it’s such a treat!

    I talk about coconut oil and stuff just about daily on my blog.

    MMM

    and yah…I love the taste too.

    a bit too much I think.
    (and I love nut things too)

    You’re first blog day was great. I went a while before I got traffic! It will happen.
    Happy Wednesday!

  2. mariposagirl says:

    awww, your sweet.
    come by later this week..I am going to give cranberry/coconut oil lip gloss a shot!

    MMMMMM

    we should stary coconut’s anonymous!

  3. thanks for the sweet comment girly!
    love the blog – my life is seriously lacking in coconut at the moment so i’m very interested!
    i’ll for sure be following!

  4. I have not had much experience with coconut butter in the past, but your post definitely makes me want to experiment with it. I can only imagine how good it must be on yams!

Leave a Reply

