Breaking out the fall foods

Butternut squash, canned pumpkin, buttercup squash

 

I confess I am a little bit behind. All fall, and I have not had one “fall” food. I am a black-sheep in the world of blog foodists 🙂

I ought to have plenty of ideas considering I follow a lot of blogs that use these foods. But I have failed at incorporating them into my daily eats! I earn an “F” for versatility in my food choices.

I purchased a can of organic pumpkin, a butternut squash and a buttercup squash. Butternut and buttercup: which do you prefer? I plan to prepare these soon for some meal or snack, and luckily there are plenty of blogs with some great ideas.

I also purchased 2 more nut butters recently: Maranatha raw almond butter & a Manitoba Harvest Hemp Seed Butter. I first saw this new one on Sammie’s blog at running with a recipe, thanks Sammie 🙂 It is quite impressive packing 11 g of protein in 1 TBSP.

Almond Butter, Hemp Seed Nut Butter

Maranatha, how I love you ! I would like to be their official sponsor , but I think the infamous Heather is the leading candidate for that job.

I have noticed the majority of blogs have posts of meals to meals. I am still trying to determine what direction this blog will go in and my posts are -cough- “dry” and boring right now, but its going to take some time to decide what topics I might like to talk about and hope they interest readers. In the meantime, I am going to post as I can.  The bloggers that post meals must be very busy! And that leads me to a new question: are you a planner or a non-planner when it comes to meals and snacks?

I think I am a bit of both, probably more of a planner lately. But my food choices are generally consistent from day to day. My goal is to start increasing the versatility of these choices as they explore this blog and other food-friends.  I do think, however, that planning in advance is important for those that have a busy day. It is unfortunate when someone is unprepared and has to leave their hunger unsatiated which can anger the stomach and decrease the mood.

A hypothetical scenario: You are in an elevator and trapped for the next 18 hours. You have not eaten since breakfast and you have to spend the entire day there. A crew worker is able to send down a tiny baggie of some food, but it can only contain 3-small-snack items. What 3 items are you going to request?

I think I might request: LARAbar, apple, jar of coconut butter. I could spread these 3 (denser and more filling items) throughout the day. For example, cut the Larabar in half and spread with coconut butter, then ration the half later, same with the apple. Typically I might want to eat these 3 all at one time, but if you have 18 hours to go, rationing is wise.

Lets be honest: I would probably spend the entire time thinking about food.

Obsession with food ? That might be me 🙂

 

6 Responses to Breaking out the fall foods

  1. mariposagirl says:

    OH I like your 3 choices. That sounds good to me! can you pass the coconut butter please? And send me down a pizza.

    HA

    I can never answer those questions…I am always changing my mind and tastes. Yours sounds good. the oil in the coconut butter will give you great energy, brain power, and protect you from germs, and the larabar will give you protien and the apple some quick carbs fiber and some hydration. I would need a gallon of water but then I would need a bathroom.

    it’s all good.
    I can’t wait to see what you make with your new purchases.

  2. I’ll fight you to be Maranatha’s official sponsor. 😉

    Definitely a buttercup girl as it’s so similar to my beloved kabocha squash.

    Hmm, if trapped in an elevator, I would request a hard boiled egg, 1 serving of almonds, and an avocado…preferably cut and half and sent down with a plastic spoon. 🙂

    • I will go with the buttercup first then. You have interesting choices: you are definitely a protein girl! I have you on the nuts and avocado though. I have eaten 1 avocado, 3 TB of almond butter, and 4 tbsps of seeds and nuts and its only noon 🙂

  3. Meg's Gut says:

    Mmm, good three choices!

    I would have to go with butternut squash, love it!

    If I’m trapped in an elevator (which I hope I never will be) I would choose sunflower seed butter, a banana and GF granola.

    Love your NEW blog!

Leave a Reply

