What is your chocolate factory?…and a surprise…

Note: there is a new surprise find I talk about at the end of this post…might be fun for you πŸ™‚

In the movie/book Charlie and the Chocolate factory (or maybe you prefer the original Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory…), the chocolate factory is presented as the utopia that the little boy dreams of reaching. He is excited to step inside this place where everything is chocolate, that ever-elusive delicacy that is adored all over the world.

CharlieChoc029.jpg

Really, chocolate….I mean even the word sounds decadent, rich, inviting. We know that there is a wealth of chocolate out there. There are the chocolate treats, bars, coated-candies, coated-nuts, chocolate chips, cocoa nibs, cocoa powder, chocolate milk, chocolate cookies/bars/cakes…chocolate oats πŸ™‚

So what is your chocolate-factory? What is the food, delicacy, dessert, food item, anything …that could potentially mirror that “utopia” quality that chocolate held for the little boy in the popular movie/book ? Maybe it is chocolate….maybe it is oats or a nut butter (according to all the popular blog-titles that include these 2 items :))….maybe it is a rich carrot cake desert made from scratch in a “special” way….maybe it is as simple as pancakes…or as complex as a rich stew.

Pieces of Chocolate

Or, if you are like me, it changes from day to day.

Yes, at first when I thought about this concept I could not make up my mind of what my “chocolate” would be. I quickly concluded that this meant one thing: I am an indecisive girl who really does not know what her likes or dislikes are!! (If you have ever seen Runaway Bride with Julia Roberts and Richard Gere, you might remember that scene where Roberts is unsure if she really likes her eggs fried or poached…)

But then I decided that that is just me. Maybe my “chocolate” is variety…a bit of everything you know ? I am sure there is probably 1 or 3 items that stands out above the others, but for now I hold no prejudice.Β  I kind of like that approach for right here for right now for me. Keep my mind open to possibilities. Be open to trying a new stew (Kath just featured a new lentil and sweet potato stew on her blog), or oats-in-a-jar, or try out one of the many holiday desserts that numerous blog and recipe collections are now featuring.

I have a lot of foods that make up the majority of my daily eats. But I think being open to new foods and ideas might be a good feature. At least be open to it, consider it.

An unfortunate occurrence in the food-focused-world (and in any selective world) is the practice of judging. I mean the judging of others for their choices.Β  For some people, their “chocolate” may be a bowl of nut butter-banana-oats…

Time for oats in a jar ?

and this particular person might receive a few “what?” looks….for others, their “chocolate” might be a really good quality ice cream at a specific shop…and for another it might be butternut squash fries with coconut butter. Should we judge one another for our choices ? Should we judge the chosen itemsΒ on their healthfulness, their quality, their positive or negative connotations? No, I don’t think so.

I don’t think the food-blog-world is meant to be a virtual tour where others analyze, critique, judge, or worse compare one another’s choices. I don’t even think that what a person photographs encompasses everythingΒ  that they eat. Some may choose to display what they feel is “pretty”, or what might interest others, or what they have time for in their rush, or whatever their camera (and their patience) chose to take. We cannot accurately glean from a collage of photos whether a person follows any kind of regime. We can get an idea of their food approaches and likes/dislikes, but we don’t know the whole story.

I guess this would be a good point for me to now bring up that if I show any photos on this blog, they do not emcompass everything that I eat. If I display some veggie burgers, it does not mean I am a vegan. If I display almond milk, it does not mean I do not drink hemp milk, and others as well. If I display “healthy” foods or “not-so-healthy” foods (those popular, but disdainful, labels), it does not mean I do not like or eat the opposite. I guess that is my “disclaimer” of sorts.

With that last note, I will ask again what is your chocolate-factory?

And now for something fun:

Extra! Extra!

A new nut butter alert:

And on another note, here is a new nut butter I found. Maybe I am not the “first” to find it, but I haven’t seen it. I haven’t opened it yet, because my fridge is on nut-butter-overload :)…soon…

"health NUT" nut butter

The ingredients on this? cashews, walnuts, sunflower seeds, flax seeds, pumpkin seeds, almonds, pecans, agave nectar, cacoa nibs….

hmmm….kind of represents that “chocolate-factory-utopia” of mine doesn’t it?? The best of all nut butters combined?Β  Surely, this might be a winner πŸ™‚

Β 

12 Responses to What is your chocolate factory?…and a surprise…

  1. Cindy says:

    Very well said M’Lady…
    I loved your whole article! (even the chocolate factory flash back)

    I couldn’t agree with you more and openness is a wonderful place to be…

    I would have to say my Utopia is coconuts of any sort.

    I used to eat fresh coconut meat out of the husk whenever I could get my hands on some until a nieghbor who was a nurse told me it was sooooooooooooo high in cholesterol. I was a teenager and had no real idea what cholesterol was so I “cut back” because I loved it so. Ever since coconut has had a bad cloud over it for me (but I was a closet coconut gal now)…having been informed but still addicted to it. This past summer I almost bought coconut oil to follow a recipe from 101 cookbooks and saw the label said it was full of saturated fat…and my husband watches that so I just couldn’t bring myself to buy it….but after research and a few good books on the topic I know it’s a truth (it IS high in saturated fat) but it’s a medium chain fatty acid and it’s so good for you.

    well sign me up.

    Had I just kept my mind shut to that nurse’s comments and the media hype…I would be missing on such good health and TASTE!

    I have greatly expanded my ingredient list this year by being open. I am not vegan either…but I eat SUCH a variety of foods it seems meat and meat products hardly show up much anymore. I don’t miss it.

    love your post today and that NUT BUTTER sounds AMAZING!

  2. Mari says:

    Yums my factory would consist of icecream, Italian rainbow cookies, Peanut Butter, Pasta.Oh and veggies for good measure =)(life is about balance)

    HA nut butter-oats-banana! were you talking about me hahahaha

  3. Great post my friend, and no judgement from me ever. We all have our different food utopias – that is what makes us unique, and what works for me is not going to work for everyone.

    Health Nut nut butter? I MUST FIND THIS ASAP!!!!

  4. Health Nut Butter? Looks awesome!!

    the chocolate factory.. delicious. i’d love my world to be laced in chocolate. and fresh fruits πŸ™‚

  5. You have to tell me how that health nut butter tastes! I’m curious to try it!

    My food utopias…of course, chocolate, and peanut butter…and the combination makes the perfect utopia!

  6. kbwood says:

    Hey beautiful!! okay your blog is SO EXCITING!! that chocolate at the beginning got me si excited! i love chocolate

    and new PB?!! AWESOME! im def adding u to my blog roll πŸ™‚

  7. Katie says:

    Hey, I just came across your blog from looking at Heather’s blog. That nut butter sounds amazing! Where did you find such a great find? πŸ˜‰

    • Hey, I drove into my “big city” recently for a quick appointment and stopped at a market cafe to explore it for a nice quiet lunch…the place was attached to this semi-large local “farmers market” -hippie – type locale that sold some stuff like that, so I grabbed it. But you could try Whole Foods maybe ?….Thanks for reading , so great πŸ™‚

  8. candice says:

    Great concept πŸ˜€ My “chocolate factory” is definitely nut butter. Any kind. Almond butter, peanut butter, cashew butter, sunflower seed butter… you name it, I’ll probably like it. And thinking about the endless flavors of nut butter makes me drool. Though I haven’t tried that “health nut” butter yet πŸ˜‰

  9. Katie says:

    Thanks so much for adding me to your blog roll! πŸ™‚ But, where did you get that nut butter? =P

    • Hey there,
      I wrote a reply earlier…did you see it? Its at a local farmers market – hippie- style cafe in my “bigger city”…I had to make a trip for an appointment and stopped ironically into a cafe to have lunch and there was a market right next door with some select items…but maybe you can phone costco or whole foods? surely they would have it? πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

